Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 20, 2006, 8:34 AM   #1

Sorry guys, newbie here. Kindly bear with me.

Im using a Fuji f410, with a fuji 512mb xd card. I normally transfer photos to my computervia the provided usb transfer cable.

Yesterday I had it transfered via an internal card reader in a friend's computer, and while copying, it had an 'transfer error', and i cant 'safely remove' the XD card.

So i logged off, and remove the card. Turned out that around 200 plus pictures were gone, (around 100mb).

when I deleted all pictures in my fuji cam, i realised the max capacity has reduced by the same 100mb of memory. I doubled checked, and the XD card is empty, just less max capacity.

I tried to use some photo recovery software to recover that 200 plus photos, and i did, but not all, and some were damaged.

I noted this program from this forum 'digital image recovery' which serves the same purpose, is it the best free recovery program? ie will i recover my pictures without damaging them?

2nd question.

having mentioned that the total amount is reduced by 100mb, i wanted to format my memory card.

Does it help?

But im kinda afraid of screwing up, cos im not sure how and where to format using my fuji f410.

Kindly advise.

Thanks in advance.

Lucifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 20, 2006, 10:10 AM   #2

hello there lucifer,

yes, try a low format of yours xd card, that will help to remove all date in it.

if you had already tried a photo recovery program, and some images where damage, don´t think you´ll get them all.

good luck!!,
hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 10:13 AM   #3
Administrator

The images on the card may be damaged already. So, nothing may get them all back (they may have been partially overwritten before you noticed a problem).

It's not uncommon to see some corrupted images if the FAT was damaged while you were taking photos.