Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 26, 2006, 8:25 PM   #1

I am just getting started into photography and while I am learning a lot about the general equipment I still know little about the technical ins and outs of using a digital camera. If someone could suggest some easy to understand books that will give me a good start in understanding photography that would be great. I have the Panasonic FZ20 and have used it a little so far but only in the auto mode. I would like the book so I can keep it with me as a refference until I get to where I understand what I am doing and why. I have already bought a good UV filter and linear polarizer and a lens adaptor for my camera along with the the lens caps. Also I have the DPS-9000 external battery pack, AA charger and 8 batteries, and two 1Gig memory cards. On my list to buy is a Velbon tripod and head and a Sunpak 383 Super flash and maybe the Olympus wide angle WCON-08B lens. I think this will give me a good start into this new hobby. Any other suggestions would be appreciated.
Thank, Allen
mebareit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 26, 2006, 10:35 PM   #2

The book you should know inside out is your camera's manual. Experiment with the settings: shoot that boring wall at the back of your garden in all kinds of lighting situations. Use an EXIF reader to know what the settings are for each shot so you can see what the settingsare doing.

Get to know what everything on your camera does so you can change settings without thinking about how to do it.