Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 23, 2003, 3:25 PM   #1

Default I've got 3 to choose from......

1. Minolta Dimage S414 (Leaning toward)
2. Nikon Coolpix 4300 (Heard Good things)
3. Canon A70 (I only mention this because it was the original I was looking at.)

These are it. What do you all think?
Let the photographic knowledge flow!!!!
jpaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2003, 6:04 PM   #2

Default Choice of 3

I too am looking at these 3 cameras..

The minolta is working out the cheapest to buy off the internet, and I also am leaning towards this camera.

I am going to the store to handle them and see the quality, size etc.

It depends on the features and how specific you are on what you need. I am a beginner and want something not too big, easy to use "point and shoot" with a few manual controls for when I learn more later, but meanwhile an automatic mode to get started.

Good luck in your choice. The people in this forum a very knowledgable a seem to be able to answer any question.
Carrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2003, 7:01 PM   #3

Carrie,

Please post your impressions of what you see here. I am having some difficulty locating an S414 to look at where I live.

Thanks!
jpaq
:P
Old Apr 24, 2003, 8:54 AM   #4

Come on folks.
I know you get these questions all of the time, but I thought that was what this subject "Newbie Help" was all about........

Anyone?
Echo....echo....echo....

Is anyone out there?

:?
Old Apr 24, 2003, 9:21 AM   #5
NHL

Actually all 3 are excellent, and you can't go wrong.

But you're comparing apple and oranges: the s414 is a 4Mpixel camera against the other two 3Mp!!! If you put it in the right bucket it'll look even more attractive (on price...) and it's all metal :P
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2003, 9:28 AM   #6

Default camera choice