Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 23, 2003, 4:46 PM   #1

Default Losing part of picture during development

You have all been so helpful in the past that I am going to ask for your advice again. Please bear with me as I am new to all of this...

Camera: Dimage 7i
Software: Photoshop Elements

I burned my first "negatives" on to a CD and took them to Costco for developing. The quality of the pictures is great! HOWEVER, there is a difference between the negotive and the 4x6 picture. It is almost like they zoomed the negotive in before developing the picture, so some of the top and bottom is not showing up. (The sides seem to be ok.) This is ok for some pictures, but for the tight shots, I am losing important parts of the pictures I took. For instance, a pic of St. Peter's Basilica that was nicely centered in the negotive, came out missing the top of the dome-all sky above the dome was deleted from my negative.

I asked the developer about this and she told me that I can request "No crop channel," but that would leave me with an unwanted white frame around each picture. Otherwise, she said that I was to go into my software and resize the picture. She said that by dividing the height by the width, I should come out to 1.5.

Didn't know exactly what she meant as this is all so new to me, but I went into Image/Resize/Image Size and divided the Document Size Height (26.667) by the Width (35.556) and came up with .75! What does this mean?

The software program doesn't mention this resizing before developing problem at all. Is she feeding me bad info? I don't want to have to go through a huge resizing procedure if I don't have to. Any suggestions?

Therese
DigiNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2003, 6:28 PM   #2

Hi, I've not got the kit and software you have, but here's some general help.