Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 16, 2006, 1:23 PM   #1

I've been using a point and shoot for about 3 years now and have finally become so frustrated with shutter lag, boot up times, and missing shots from the autofocus being slow that I'm saving for a DSLR.

I have been using a Nikon 8700 and 8800 and have been very happy with the quailty of the pictures...that is when they are of the subject before it runs away or just doesn't come out because of the lighting. I did purchase a SB-800 speedlight for it and that has help considerably with the lighting, but I feel I have outgrown these and need to graduate.

I have not used a SLR camera since high school journalism, and even then the teacher just told us to get the needle of the meter in a certain area and then shoot the pic. So, I need to go through some instruction to make sure I get some decent pictures. I'm completly amateur, have no interest into going into photography as a profession, but thoroughly enjoy taking good photographs. Can anyone recommend any online photography classes or websites?

kellamMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 16, 2006, 2:16 PM   #2
rey

Check this out:
http://www.canon.co.jp/Imaging/enjoydslr/index.html

For formal class, I've seen people recommend betterphoto.com, but I have no experience with them except when Jim Miotke went to my local library to promote his book. He basically covered the basic stuff in his book.

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2006, 4:53 PM   #3

You'll be surprised what you can learn by asking the right question right here!
We are a friendly bunch, so we don't care how basic the question is, as long as it seems like you really want to learn (and aren't just wasting our time... we are offering up our time for free, after all!)