Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 4, 2003, 9:14 AM   #1

Default Airshow pictures

Hey all,

As an aviation enthousiastic i would like to take photo's at flying displays. Besides using a webcam i have no experiences with digi cam's. So my question to you is if you could give me advise on what camera would suit me best for taking pictures of fast moving objects which are some 250 to 500 metres away from me. I will surely need a Zoom to get something more then just a dot on the picture. The pictures token with a normal 35mm camera were most of the time too dizzy.

Thanks in advance

Greetingz from Belgium
voodoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 4, 2003, 10:39 AM   #2

Though it's "possible" to get airshow images with a consumer digicam like the Sony DSC-F717, Olympus C2100UZ, Olympus E-100RS, Olympus E10 - Fuji S602Z - it's not easy and you would get MUCH better results with one of the removable lens digital SLR cameras like the Canon EOS-D60, 10D, 1D, 1Ds - Nikon D100, D1, D1X, D1H - Fuji S1, S2 - Kodak DCS-720X, 760, 520, etc.

The professional and prosumer dSLR cameras have the ability to quickly match the lens for the conditions, superior autofocus in most cases, far better signal to noise ratios and cleaner images under difficult shooting conditions, etc.