Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 18, 2006, 9:23 AM   #1

Hello!

I purchased a Fujifilm V10 on Friday and immediately took it out with me to the bar with my girlfriends. I hadn't had a chance to play with any of the settings, so all the pictures I took were on auto. They turned out pretty nice, except when I enlarge the picture to "actual pixel size" in Photoshop, it looks like an oil painting rather than a picture. I've never seen anything like this before! I don't plan on enlarging any of these pics, but are they ok to print at 4X6?

From the research I've done online, it would seem to be caused by a high ISO setting....is that the likely case? I can't tell what was used. In the future, what would be better to use in a low light situation like a bar? Should I manually set it to a lower setting and just use a flash?

I'm fairly new to this, so any help would be appreciated! Thank yoU!
Brocksgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 18, 2006, 9:55 AM   #2

Look up one of these programs:
noiseninja
neatimage (this is the one I own)
Both have completely free versions that let you try them out.

If what you saw was digital noise (which is what higher ISO images produce) then one of those programs should be able to remove it. They aren't magical, they work well on some images and not on others. They work better when a portion of the image has no detail (a wall of solid color, the sky with no clouds, ....)

They are both basically the same, just made by different people. What they do is sample a portion of your image and learn the patter of the noise that your camera produces. Then it removes it mathamatically.

I would suggest that you use a lower ISO and use the built-flash. Realize that the flash will be fairly weak, and only reach about 10-12 feet. But that is often enough for simple group shots in locations like bars or parties.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2006, 9:59 AM   #3