Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 10, 2006, 12:04 AM   #1

I am new to digital and am pretty well versed in film. I have a Nikon F100 and a few very good lenses. Would ISO relate to ASA in film?

I did not want to hijack the previous thread so I started this one. Ads said in that thread, some good cameras will show noise at say 1600 when some point and shoot cameras will show it at 200.

I am asking as I was looking at theNikon F200 and the comparible Canon models. I do have Nikon lenses though. So where it says in somne reviews that the F200 will start to show noise over ISO 400, what kind of lighting conditions would this be? Is this a cloudy day, or is it pretty dark? Would this noise show up in a 5x7 digital print? Are they nitpicking at that point? Also, can the darkness issue be gotten around somewhat by the choice of lenses and shutter speed and aperature? For instance, I have a Nikon 50mm 1.4 lense. This is a fast lens. Will this allow more shooting under 400 ISO?

I appreciate if someone could shed some light on this subject. No pun intended.

Thanks- Ken

ken6217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 10, 2006, 12:51 AM   #2

At 5x7 print size, noise will be a very minor issue with any dSLR used up to ISO 1600. Even with the "notoriously noisy" Olympus E-300, I've printed A4 size (8x10) prints of ISO 1600 shots after the judious use of a noise-reduction program like Noiseware or Neatimage. Noise can also be used to advantage with certain types of photography, especially b/w.

Norm in Fujino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 1:56 AM   #3