Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 20, 2006, 2:54 PM   #1

Ok, I just got my new D200 last week with a Nikon 18-200mm lens. I have taken some phenomenal pictures (compared to my Coolpix 8800) on programmed auto.

My question is this: I like to take landscape shots. Of course with the point and shoot, it was easy to set in auto...just select the program of landscape and go. I'm thinking that evil little camera has totally handicapped my with my new dslr, since I used to have some knowledge of manual photography.

Anyway, I know that I need to adjust my aperture to a higher number. I put the D200 in aperture priority mode, and set the aperture to a higher number, but it just didn't seem to get the whole frame in focus. I tried just about every set of focus modes also.

I'm just learning the camera, so I'm trying to stay close to the auto settings until I get a good hold of them. Then I want to go full manual to get creative.

Any recommendations/pointers for the aspiring photographer?
kellamMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2006, 4:53 PM   #2

You don't say what apertures you've tried. There is less depth of field with the D200 than with a compact camera. How much depth of field you get depends on the focal length of the lens which you haven't mentioned. Assuming something like the 18-70 zoom I'd try at least F8 and up to about F16.

Ken
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2006, 3:46 PM   #3

I'm using a Nikon 18-200mm lens. Since I am just learning to use the camera, I just put the camera in aperture priority mode and started to step the setting taking pictures as I went. I just didn't see a difference in the monitor as I took them. I ended up deleteing the pics to make space, since I did not have a very big card CF card at the time.

Thanks for the reply!
Old Sep 21, 2006, 5:52 PM   #4