Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Nov 28, 2006, 9:26 PM   #1

I just bought a new D80 along with an18-200 VR lens within the past week. I've also purchased some Manfrotto/Bogen 3001 Pro legs with a 486RC2 ball head. I thought a Monopod would help as well, so I have a Manfrotto 676B as well I've been reading my manual like crazy, since this is my first DSLR, but I'm still having an issue.

The reason I'm here is that I have to go to Christmas light display within the next week. I'm trying to practice my technique of taking lighted pictures in a dark atmosphere, however I'm far from anything that I would show anyone. I was just wondering if there was any tips, trips, optimal settings, or anything you feel could help me out. I'm sure I'll figure it out a some point, but as for now I need to figure it out soon. I'm on a time schedule. I am a newbie, but not totally clueless. Please let me know if you think there is something that would help me out in my situation. Thank you.
towndrunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 29, 2006, 12:36 AM   #2
rey

Are you shooting just lighting displays or are there going to be people on the scene? The problem is when people are involved. With pure low-lighted scene without moving subjects, a slower shutter speed may be the way to go. Depending on the available light, .5 to 1.0 second is a good starting point.

But if moving subjects, like people, are involved things can be complicated, since you cannot use long exposure. Also, it depends on how far they are from the camera. If they are close, you can use the built-in flash.

If you want to capture dark lighted background with people on the foreground, you can try using rear-sync flash mode. This is when the flash kicks in at the end of the exposure. This gives the camera time to expose the dark background before lighting the front subjects with the flash.