Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Feb 25, 2007, 8:45 PM   #1

Hithere, im pretty new to the whole SLR scene and I have been taking pictures for about 2 years now with a normal everyday "point-n-shoot" digital camera. I think im finally ready to move on to a bit more of an advanced camera so I'v been looking at many different dSLR cameras and there reviews. When I came across the Nikon D40 I loved it, it seemed to have alot more features and cool new things that my current camera does not have.

But the one thing i found very confusing was a comment on "Steve's Conclusion" where he says "The D40 is compatible with Nikon F mount lenses, however it has no internal focus motor so autofocus can only be achieved with newer AF-S and AF-I CPU lenses (IX Nikkor CPU lenses can not be used.) This means you'll have to manually focus any older non-CPU lenses"

Does that mean that the camera does not autofocus like most normal "point-n-shoot" digial cameras do? Its also kind of confusing because on the review it says that it does have automatic focus. It would seem kind of a hassle to always have to manually focus it even when it is in automatic mode.

Im new to Steves forums so Im sorry if the question was already asked.

Thanks guys!

oh and by the way, can you use the little LCD screen on the back to view the picture while taking it other then having to use the little view hole above the lens? Because I know with the Canon XT Rebel you cant and you can only usethe LCD screento look at the picturesafter you take it.Thanks again!

Marci
Marci7989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 25, 2007, 9:20 PM   #2

DSLR have two basic types of lens focusing:

1. Internal motor in the lens. Look for HSM, USM, Nikon AF-S
2. Motor in the camera body driving the focus mechanism in the lens with a "screwdriver" type shaft. Nikon AF

The Nikon D40 does not have option 2 so can only use lenses from option 1.