Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 17, 2007, 9:23 AM   #1

Ok guys I am new to photography and to be honest I am a little overwhelmed with this camera. I have 2 lenses. The one it came with and a micro (macro) lens for close up shots. I also have some special lights and a white reflective backdrop from calumet photo for taking pictures. I want to take some close up pictures of metal parts for a ebay listing. All of my pictures with the Nikon are either grey or blue in the background. I want pure white. Just like the item is floating in air. Can you guys give me some tips. I am getting much better results with my cheap sony point and shoot. Oh and the metal parts have either a black finish or shiny metal finish or both. Just in case that matters. Thank you in advance for your help.
fmari is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2007, 10:40 AM   #2
Administrator

Look in your manual for information about setting White Balance.

You can use an available preset (incandescent, sunny, etc.) so that it understands the termperature of the lighting you're using, or even better, use a custom white balance.

A custom white balance allows the camera to set it's white balance using a Photographic White or Gray card (and even something like a white coffee filter can be used in a pinch). Basically, it measures the temperature of the light (since the target is a known color), and adjusts color for other images you take in the same lighting using that custom white balance setting.

If the temperature of your lighting is closer to daylight, flourescent or tungston, try the available White Balance presets first. If none of those work well enough, just set a custom white balance to get it right (and you could even use something like a white coffee filter in your lighting as a target the camera can set it by to get it close).