Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 17, 2007, 8:04 PM   #1

As I am new to the DSLR scene I have heard people talk about RAW and JPG. I understand about JPG, but what is RAW and is it a superior way of saving shot's? What are the up's and down's of each format and what do you prefer? Thanks for your help.
bootybandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2007, 6:27 AM   #2

Welcome to the DSLR world and the forum, bootyband. Yes, RAW can be a superior way of saving shots and this question gets asked a lot on the forum and in others. Look around a bit and search for the topic then see what questions you have remaining. Adobe also has some good information about it.
JDar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2007, 1:55 PM   #3

bootybandy wrote:
Quote:
As I am new to the DSLR scene I have heard people talk about RAW and JPG. I understand about JPG, but what is RAW and is it a superior way of saving shot's? What are the up's and down's of each format and what do you prefer? Thanks for your help.
new myself having just got a D80 and was given this lead.

very good read....

http://ronbigelow.com/articles/raw/raw.htm
towershot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 3:11 PM   #4

The simplest way I can explain it is, RAW is having the negative, JPEG is having the print.

Hopefully you're got a little experience with film to understand what I am saying.
kberntsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 9:01 PM   #5

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tu...aw-files.shtml has a good explanation.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/raw.htm has a rebuttal!
Bob Nichol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2007, 10:09 AM   #6