Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 21, 2007, 4:34 PM   #1

First of all i would like to say sorry if there´s any thread out there already with this subject.
I bought today a Nikkor 50mm-f/1.8 lens for my Nikon D80. I am a complete rookie with this machine (one week only in my hand), so it came with the 18-70 kit lens and after reading several reviews about this lens and with a very interesting price i´ve decided to buy it.

This said, my questions are probably ridiculous for most of you but ... this is why i come to a forum - to learn with people that just like me had doubts in the past.

1-You don´t touch this lens at all right? it´s autofocus and it has no zoom ring so once you put it into the D80 you never touch it again (only to remove it)?
2-There´s a ring with a scale in the back of the lens that range from 22 to 1.8 and there´s a white mark on top of it (22), does that ever changes manually or stays like that? How?
3-When Using this lens you need to move closer/far to objects since you have no zoom ring, so it´s logical that you establish a minimum range to take the pics, right? what´s that range?

Thanks to you all for your patience ...

p.s - any tips would be greatly appreciated
Joao Ferreira is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 22, 2007, 4:53 PM   #2
Administrator

Joao Ferreira wrote:
Quote:
1-You don´t touch this lens at all right? it´s autofocus and it has no zoom ring so once you put it into the D80 you never touch it again (only to remove it)?
Unless you want to switch to Manual Focus. Then, you can use the focus ring. If you're taking photos in very dark conditions where the Autofocus can't lock, manual focus can come in handy.

Quote:
2-There´s a ring with a scale in the back of the lens that range from 22 to 1.8 and there´s a white mark on top of it (22), does that ever changes manually or stays like that? How?