Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Oct 25, 2007, 3:26 PM   #1
RL

I am looking to purchaseone of the two. I prefer the D200 but I'm not sure I am going to need that much camera. The D80 still is a nice camera and would most likely be enough. Is it going to be worth the extra money to go with the D200? If I decide on the D200 would it be worth the wait for the D300? The camera will mostly be used for general family type pictures but it will also be used action shots while snowmobiling and shooting the kids activities such as hockey, soccer, etc.

Thanks

Randy
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 25, 2007, 4:31 PM   #2

Hi Randy,
You'll probably get a great variety of answers on this question, but here's my two cents. I own the D80 and love it. I am just a hobbyist and find it produces great results and is capable of excellent prints even at larger sizes. It has much in common with the D200 and I don't think in your (or my) case justifies the price difference. I would go with the D80 and spend the difference on some quality lenses. Now, on the other hand, if you have all the money in the world...hell yes, get the D300 :-)
goomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2007, 5:01 PM   #3

Just my 2 cents, but I own the d200 and my old man has the d80. If you're not looking to do studio shots, pre-set lighting, etc., then I'd go with the d80. Colors appear to be a bit brigher (comparing similar outdoor photos in bright daylight), it's a bit lighter, and excellent results even with higher ISOs.

The d200 has (for me, at least) a lot of noise when you get to ISO 800 or higher, so those indoor shots (I'm in Alaska, most of the winter it's darkish, even indoors) need the higher ISO.

D80 is missing some features from the d200, but it's pretty solid for the price.
volchonok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2007, 9:51 PM   #4