Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Dec 14, 2007, 6:38 AM   #1

As I am a newbie to Raw and have so far always shot in J.Peg.Will I be able to shoot in Raw with the D40x and use my Photoshop Elements 4 to make adjustments as one review said the D40x raw files were different.I dont know quite what that means but if it meansI have got to buy a load of new software it will affect my decision to buy the D40x.I realise the D80 would solve the problem but I dont really want the extra weight ifI can help it.I would appreciate any advice on this.
deadshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 14, 2007, 7:14 AM   #2
Administrator

Mac or Windows?

You'll need Adobe Camera Raw version 4.1 or higher. But, this Camera Raw version requires Photoshop Elements 5.0 in Windows or 4.0 for Mac.

It won't work in Photoshop Elements 4.0 for Windows.

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=3647

You could convert the .nef files to .dng format first using the Adobe DNG Converter (it's a free download). Then, convert the .dng files using Elements. IOW, it would be a two step process.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2007, 8:55 AM   #3

JimC wrote:
Quote:
Mac or Windows?

You'll need Adobe Camera Raw version 4.1 or higher. But, this Camera Raw version requires Photoshop Elements 5.0 in Windows or 4.0 for Mac.

It won't work in Photoshop Elements 4.0 for Windows.

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=3647

You could convert the .nef files to .dng format first using the Adobe DNG Converter (it's a free download). Then, convert the .dng files using Elements. IOW, it would be a two step process.

Ihave windows xp
Quote: