Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Feb 21, 2008, 4:01 PM   #1

Now I am a total novice just starting to push into Photoshop and working on my images created by my beloved D40X.

I've started to shoot raw as a friend has told that the best way to shoot so that I can tweek the images easier afterwards. I've loaded my images into Adobe Bridge where they show as a .NEF file. On selecting these though it doesn't open it in photoshop but shows it as a file that will not work in photoshop.

I hope that this question is in the right area - can't find any others with regard to Photoshop. I know the forums all about the camera, I was just wondering if its a setting on the camera I can tweek or if Nikon have a program that will help.

As always thanks in advance.
Platti is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 21, 2008, 5:11 PM   #2

Sounds like you are using an older version of PS (not CS3). Adobe has chosen NOT add additional RAW support to PSCS2 and earlier versions. You can download the free Adobe DNG converter from the Adobe website. This will solve your problem to some extent. The converter file is buried inside a .zip file with PSCS3 upgrades. It's easy to extract only the DNG file, if you are comfortable with WinZip or other such programs.
Delos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 8:11 PM   #3

Platti, as Delos says, if you have an older version of Photoshop than CS3, you have to use a workaround to open RAW files from the D40x. Here is a link to another forum where this is discussed somewhat and where there is a link to download the latest DNG converter which is included with Adobe Camera Raw. You won't be installing the Camera Raw pluggin, only the DNG part of the download. Then you convert all of your D40x RAWs to DNG format and import the DNG's into CS2's Camera Raw to work on them. The Adobe site or a web search will show you how to use the DNG converter.