Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Feb 28, 2008, 9:42 AM   #1

I have been shooting nikon for about 30 years. I have never had a problem. My old timers are FG models and have been very-very dependable. Never had to repair anything but the rewind lever and it just wore out from time, being tugged and wound. Then I bought my wife the N-80. I and she loved it but when the digital age came about all my cameras even my Mamiya's became old real fast. It was time to upgrade. I purchased a D-80. It seemed to have all the features I needed. Manual overrides mainly. I'm an old timer and like to set my own shutter speeds and F-stops. Ok here is the meat of my question, it has the red eye reduction flash on it that I hate! When I press my shutter button I expect the camera to take the picture not preflash then take the shot. Waiting for this stupid feature just ruins spontanious photos. How, after reading the whole manual, do I shut this feature off? Not used to this electronic stuff. All my stuff is manual. I do like the auto focus cause my site isn't what it used to be. Can anyone help a long winded old timer?
supertramp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 28, 2008, 11:10 AM   #2

Hold down the flash exposure compensation button. You will see an eye in the top LCD. While still holding the flash exposure compensation button, turn the rear command dial until the eye goes away.
David French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2008, 12:06 PM   #3

Just in case you're not clear the button you hold down is the same button that pops the flash up.

Ken
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 12:16 AM   #4