Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 22, 2008, 6:21 AM   #1

Hi! I'm an amateur photographer and I've been thinking of buying a Nikon DSLR camera. What model can you suggest for a beginner like me? I hope professionals like you can help me regarding this. Thanks in advance!
Tric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 22, 2008, 6:57 AM   #2

Really, alot depends on what kind of shooting you like to do. It's not easy to make a recommendation without knowing your interests. Nikon did not include a focus motor and built a few shortcomings (namely in AF focus points) into their entry level models, now the D60. This limits it's ability to use many lenses and makes sports and action shooting a bit tougher. If that's your interest, you're better off with the D80. For casual, general purpose photography, the D60/D40/D40x will all be fine.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2008, 9:41 AM   #3

Thanks! I'll look into the specs of the models that you mentioned. I'm into landscapes and waterscapes, and food also. Thanks for the suggestions!
Tric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2008, 8:22 AM   #4

Tric wrote:
Quote:
Thanks! I'll look into the specs of the models that you mentioned. I'm into landscapes and waterscapes, and food also. Thanks for the suggestions!
For landscapes and food there's no reason to get an expensive camera.The D40 should do the trick quite nicely,get it as a body and get the new 18-55 VR lens that come with the D60.Or get the D60 kit,there's no reason to get other camera more expensive.Yes,it only has 3 AF spots (compared to my D80-s 11),but it's built like that for simplicity and ease of use,and the lack of the internal AF motor makes the camera smaller and lighter.If you don't need to do large prints i strongly recommend the D40,it'll be great on holidays (it's only a bit larger than the Canon S5 i used to have,but much better).