Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 21, 2008, 8:59 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Can you tell me if I can use my Nikon lenses I use with my F3 NON AUTO FOCUS on a Nikon Digital body?

Which body will accept such Lenses?
What are the limitations?

Thanks

Francois
frmichaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2008, 9:51 AM   #2
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah, GA (USA)
Posts: 22,378
Default

You should not try to mount non-AI (Auto Indexing) Lenses any DSLR models other D40, D40X or D60 or you'll risk damaging the camera and/or lens. You can have non-AI lenses converted to AI.

http://www.aiconversions.com/compatibilitytable.htm

The least expensive current Nikon model that will meter with non-CPU lenses is the D200 (the newer D300 and D3 will also meter with them. But, you'd be shooting blind with the entry level models (for example, the D40, D40x, D60, D50, D70, D70s and D80 will not meter with a non-CPU lens). With those models, you'd have to estimate exposure or use a separate meter.

You can see more information on lens compatiblity here:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/compatibility-lens.htm

Now, you can use a third party Nikkor F mount to Canon EF mount lens adapter on the entry level Canon dSLR models with older Nikkor Manual Focus lenses and have metering.

Here's an example of an inexpensive adapter ($27.95) to let them work on a Canon DSLR body (and you'd have metering, too). No conversion would be needed with this adapter and you could use them on any Canon DSLR model (even the entry level XT, XTi, or XSi models) and still have metering. Just set the Aperture Ring to the desired Aperture on the lens and the meter is live in the camera if you shoot in manual exposure or aperture priority modes. The camera won't know the aperture you set with it (but doesn't matter for metering since it just needs to find the correct shutter speed for proper exposure for the amount of light it's seeing)

http://www.fotodiox.com/shop/product...roducts_id=718

But, the least expensive current dSLR available from Nikon that would meter with non-CPU Manual Focus lenses is the D200. The newer D3 and D300 will also meter with them.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2008, 10:10 AM   #3
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah, GA (USA)
Posts: 22,378
Default

P.S.

Thom Hogan has a chart showing earlier camera models that can meter with AI type Manual Focus lenses (and it's best to convert them to AI if they're not that way already). Note the "Lens Support" row in the table:

http://www.bythom.com/olddslr.htm

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2008, 10:22 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for all the details

Francois
frmichaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2008, 10:43 AM   #5
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah, GA (USA)
Posts: 22,378
Default

No problem, and welcome to the forums.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:43 PM.