Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old May 12, 2008, 8:09 AM   #1

I'm very new to the dslr game. My wife and I have grown dissatisfied with the recent point and shoot digicams so we decided to move into a Nikon D40. Currently using it with the kit lens. We've had it now for a few days and I've been doing a lot of reading and playing with some of the different settings. So far I can say that the camera takes far and away better photographs than any p&s we've owned. The camera seems very intuitive and fairly straightforward to use even for us who have never used one before.

I'm wondering if anyone else has found the photos taken in auto mode to be perfectly acceptable for most occasions? I'm wondering why I would shoot in any other mode? I've also set some of the custom shooting settings and taken some shots in "P" mode and although the photos also come out great I can't see a really big difference. From what I'm reading many tend to shoot in this mode in lieux of auto? Maybe we're just too new to notice the difference between the two setitngs.

I'm also wondering about the white balance settings. Do they really work? I'm noticing that indoor shots set at wb auto tends to grey out the colors. Other than this I'm perfectly happy with this camera and can see us using it for years to come.
d40newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 12, 2008, 8:51 AM   #2