Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Oct 3, 2003, 9:48 PM   #1

Default D100 Owners - HELP Please ??

I am considering purchasing the D100. Reading lots of reviews and forums I have noticed that lots of people are saying the following about the D100. Resolution and color are excellent but images are consistently under-exposed by a stop or two and images are very soft in the Auto sharpening setting in JPEG format. I am an amateur photographer and not sure what this means? Is this true and how can it be corrected by someone who has no clue on how to use Photoshop (or any other photo editing software)? :?:
agiaccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 4, 2003, 10:28 AM   #2

Default two options...

Yes it is true about the underexposed pictures on the D100, you have two options, the easy one is to use something called curves, (many of them avalaible on internet) you need to research about it to understand, but it is a process of one time, once that you are satisfied the way the camera takes the pictures you don't need to modify anything, and the second option is to overexpose all your pictures by one or around one f-stop. I consider that you don't need to worry about it, you will find some automated software options to modify the way the camera takes the information, even if you don't have photoshop or you don't know how to use it. But remember that one of the nicest things about digital is the power of edition of your pictures!!!, you will enjoy your D100 camera!!!
jcarq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2003, 12:14 AM   #3

I shoot the D100 and just set the level curve every time in PHotoshop. It's a hastle. I which I could get the curve software that the other person who responded to your original question spoke of and set it permanently on the camera. I do love the camera though.
mbuonanno@alum.mit.edu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2003, 6:41 AM   #4