Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 27, 2008, 10:53 PM   #1

Please critique exposure, sharpness and contrast. This is my first time shooting manual with my D80. I find myself adding sharpness on most of my pics. I do not know why my set us not sharp?
D80 with Tokina 80-200 F2.8.
Attached Images

Angel L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 27, 2008, 10:54 PM   #2

Attached Images

Old Sep 27, 2008, 10:56 PM   #3

Attached Images

Old Sep 27, 2008, 10:56 PM   #4

Attached Images

Old Sep 28, 2008, 11:00 AM   #5

Angel,

Just sticking to the technical aspects:

1. White balance looks off in all of them. I see you used a 'cloudy weather' WB. I would suggest leaving it on auto.

2. Sharpness is off. Shot 4 is probably the sharpest of the lot but they're all off - especially evident in shot 3. I'm guessing you were shooting through the fence? How close was the lens to the fence? You want to be right up against it - and of course if you're shooting at an angle through the fence that could cause problems. My suggestion is to take some shots WITHOUT the fence in the way - someone standing on the outside with you and compare those pictures with the pictures you take of the players. That will help determine whether the fence is playing a part in the lack of sharpness or something else (i.e. equipment or technique). Also, there's a question of how you are "adding sharpness". I.e. what tool or technique are you using. USM (unsharp mask) is probably themost widely usedmethod - typically standard 'sharpening' tools in software or cameras do a very poor job.