Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Oct 6, 2008, 9:33 PM   #1

I'm looking at moving to a Nikon dSLR from P&S digital having used film SLRs for many years. I'm comfortable using an SLR (although I'm still learning - aren't we all). My son has a D80 with 18-70mm lens which I have tried and like. My main uses would be general family photos, vacation travel, etc. but I have an interest in getting into nature and macro photos (a future lens purchase). I have a film camera 28-85mm AF lens (about 10 years old) which works well on a D80 but is not AF-S. On a DX camera, this lens gives limited wide angle (42mm equivalent). I've been looking at the D80 but, in Canada, there is a fairly large price differential between the D40/D60 and D80. I have identified options of interest in two price groupings. The first is around $650Can while the second is around $900:

Group 1 ($650):
a) D40 with 18-135mm lens
b) D60 with 18-55 VR lens
c) D80 body only.

Group 2 ($900)
d) D60 with 18-55 VR and 55-200 VR lenses
e) D80 with 18-70mm lens

Then there's a 'wish list' third group ($1750): D60 with 16-85mm VR and 70-300mm VR.

I know that the third group gives the best lenses, which I could use in the future with a new body. But, it's more money than I want to spend. I don't think that a 55mm max zoom will meet my needs (choice b) but, despite the many positive comments about the D40, I am hesitant to invest that much money in 'old' technology (choice a), especially with a lens (18-135) which has been criticized for distortion effects and has no VR. In group 2, I like my son's 18-70 lens but choice d) would give wider zoom, at the cost of an inferior 18-55 coverage.

I know there are lots of other combinations possible. And I know that there is no 'right' answer. I'd be interested in experienced comments, particularly if there are any trade-off issues which I may have missed.