Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Nov 12, 2008, 10:02 AM   #1

I just purchased the lowly Nikon D40 after going through two Fuji "bridge" cameras. I know, it isn't much, and I only have the kit lens right now. And I have only taken about 100 pictures so far. But I must say that I can see a definite improvement in the overall quality of the images. I'm not a professional photographer, just someone who likes to have a little fun with a camera once in a while.

I have a granddaughter who enjoys being in school theater productions. I tried taking some pictures last year with my Fuji 9000, and they were not very clear that all. Slow focus, noisy, etc.. This year my son-in-law was using his Nikon D70, and the results were stunning. My thinking was that since the D40 has the same sensor as the D70 (as I understand it), even if my pictures aren't as good as the ones he took they cannot be anything but better than what I have taken in the past.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 12, 2008, 10:35 AM   #2
Administrator

Both the D70 and D40 use a Sony 6 Megapixel CCD sensor. Nikon's implementation allows faster X-Sync Speeds compared to the versions offered by other manufacturers using this Sony sensor, since Nikon is using an electronic shutter feature in their version of the sensor to get around the mechanical shutter limitations that normally prevent faster flash sync speeds with a dSLR. The newer D40 tends to have better noise reduction algorithms compared to the older models like the D70.