Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Nov 15, 2008, 1:03 AM   #1

I have not seen anyone with info on how to shoot when your child is dancing on stage or in concerts...... I am new to slr's and need to know what is the best setting or lens to use when shooting my daughter dancing. I have the Nikkor 18-200 vr lens and the Nikkor 70-300 vr lens..... both of which we purchased because we do not always have front row seats during performances..... any help will be appreciated....
kailona is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 15, 2008, 6:48 AM   #2
Administrator

It will be very difficult to get blur free shots with those lenses of something like a dance recital with typical school stage lighting, since they're both relatively dim lenses if you zoom in much, with a widest available aperture of f/5.6 on their long end.

A much brighter lens would be desirable for that type of use. The problem is that most brighter primes available won't Autofocus on a D40. So, you may need to stick with a zoom (which would give you more flexbility for framing, but available zooms won't be as bright as some of fixed focal length lenses available).

If budget permits, you may want to consider something like a Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 AF-S VR, or a Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX HSM (around $799), or a Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 (around $699). These would all Autofocus on your D40.

Those lenses are all 4 times as bright as your two existing lenses if you zoomed in much, allowing shutter speeds 4 times as fast for a given ISO Speed and lighting level (f/2.8 is 4 times as bright as f/5.6).

With your existing lenses, it would be a tough call. What I'd probably do is use the 70-300mm VR and try not to zoom in any (i.e., sit close enough so that you can use it on it's 70mm end). That would give you f/4 (which is twice as bright as you'd have zooming in towards the longer end of your lenses).