Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 7, 2009, 4:27 PM   #1

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to photography with dSLR cameras. I recently bought the D90 and I'm very happy with it. I am using a new Tamron 18-200mm lens which I really like as well. However, I'm going to Africa this summer and I'm thinking I would like to get a bit closer to some of the wildlife. I'd like to get maybe a 400mm or 500mm lens, but I don't want to spend a whole lot, since I already broke the bank on the camera and Tamron lens (and the trip!). I was originally thinking of getting an old AI/AI-S 400mm/f/5.6 or f/6.1lens and using it manually. You can pick them up on ebay generally for less than $100-150US or so. I understand that most of them fit the D90, it's just that nobody really wants them anymore.

I see you can also get these 500mm/f8 lenses on ebay brand new made by Opteka (Japan) or Tokinen (Korea) for less than $100US. This seems awful cheap, and I go by the old saying "if it seems too good to be true, it probably is." Anybody used these lenses and how is the quality. I recognize I'm not taking National Geographic quality photos with anything in my range (or with my skills), but I still want something that takes decent pics.

I'm leaning towards just getting an older lens, recognizing it will also likely be a bigger and heavier. Any advice or words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
kpj047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2009, 4:43 PM   #2
Administrator

kpj047 wrote:
Quote:
I was originally thinking of getting an old AI/AI-S 400mm/f/5.6 or f/6.1lens and using it manually. You can pick them up on ebay generally for less than $100-150US or so. I understand that most of them fit the D90, it's just that nobody really wants them anymore.
Welcome to the forums.