Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old May 25, 2009, 6:01 AM   #1

Default Nikon D40 best settings?

Hello,

I'm a beginner to DSLR photography. I've had a Nikon D40 for about a year. I mostly like to click macro shots, people, abstract stuff and sometimes lanscapes. Though I'd like to use the 'P' mode, sometimes the photos turn out darker than I'd like; this makes me shift to the 'Auto' mode.

What suggestions can you give me for getting the best settings (vivid colors, but not too much) out of the D40 and any other tips for beginners like me?
deadlyminds is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 25, 2009, 2:22 PM   #2

I also have a Nikon D-40 and I have no problems at all when I use the "P" or Programmed Auto mode. You might check to see if you have some minus Exposure Compensation cranked in that is darkening your photos.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2009, 5:28 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtclimber View Post
I also have a Nikon D-40 and I have no problems at all when I use the "P" or Programmed Auto mode. You might check to see if you have some minus Exposure Compensation cranked in that is darkening your photos.

Sarah Joyce
There is no such thing as ideal settings, especially when talking about color and sharpening etc. Everyone's taste is different. Settings will also depend on the specific effect or look that you are trying to achieve. Learn the basics of exposure and how things like ISO, shutter speed and aperture affect your image. then go out and play with your camera...dial in different settings and see what works best (take notes so things are easier to remember). Also, remember, that you can always play with the final image in post work.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2009, 10:18 AM   #4