Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Aug 2, 2009, 8:31 PM   #1

Default D90 question

In a nut shell, how good is the D90
i previously owned a Pentax K20D, which i sold and was looking at the D90 to replace it with, if any of you guys have experience with the two, that would give me a good judge analsis
i am a casual photographer with a passion for photography, usually just need it for family, vacations etc.
Dave
dafiryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 2, 2009, 8:43 PM   #2

By all accounts, the D90 is very good. However, what was your reason for selling the K20d?? The two cameras are very similar, and the Pentax is weather sealed and has slightly higher resolution. The video feature and better AF system of the D90 would probably be the biggest advantages over the k20d. In reality, to get a significantly better body from Nikon you'd have to go up to the D300 or D300s. I doubt the Nikon would automatically lead to better results than what you were getting from the K20d.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2009, 9:04 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjseeney View Post
By all accounts, the D90 is very good. However, what was your reason for selling the K20d?? The two cameras are very similar, and the Pentax is weather sealed and has slightly higher resolution. The video feature and better AF system of the D90 would probably be the biggest advantages over the k20d. In reality, to get a significantly better body from Nikon you'd have to go up to the D300 or D300s. I doubt the Nikon would automatically lead to better results than what you were getting from the K20d.
i sold it to my daughter with intencions of getting the K7, but having money in my hand, which usually does not last long so i started looking at other avenues, as i have a chance to start over, would Nikon be a better, more reliable, dependable, durable system
what i like about the D90 is