Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Aug 20, 2009, 2:50 AM   #1

Default D50 or D70s - Which is better

Recently had my D50 stolen and am looking into getting a replacement camera. As I am a relative newbie to DSLR photography, just want a decent camera to learn with. I have narrowed my choice down to the two cameras but just wanted canvas the opinions of the forum. The camera will be used mainly for taking portraits, landscaes and action shots. Any help would be gratefully received and appreciated

dotibwai is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 20, 2009, 3:52 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by dotibwai View Post
Recently had my D50 stolen and am looking into getting a replacement camera. As I am a relative newbie to DSLR photography, just want a decent camera to learn with. I have narrowed my choice down to the two cameras but just wanted canvas the opinions of the forum. The camera will be used mainly for taking portraits, landscaes and action shots. Any help would be gratefully received and appreciated

The D70 offers more control and has a few more features. However both cameras are severaiql years old, so obviously you'll be buying used, which in my opinion is a bit risky. If anything were to go wrong with the camera it would likely cost more to fix it than the camera is worth. New/refurbished D40's can be had for under $400, and will have better image quality and low light performance than either the D50 or D70.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 8:44 AM   #3

I hear your point but then the D40's can't utilise non AF-S lens unless you want to use manual focus, and I have a few lenses which are non-AF-S
Old Aug 20, 2009, 9:19 AM   #4

Quote:
I hear your point but then the D40's can't utilise non AF-S lens unless you want to use manual focus, and I have a few lenses which are non-AF-S