Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 3, 2009, 10:56 AM   #1

Default Getting ready for an air ahow

I am getting ready to take pics of a flight demonstration of a P-40 WWII aircraft.

My equipment is a Nikon D40 with the folowing lenses 18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G. I do not want to be "setting up" my equipment while the show is on and miss something. Does anyone have a sugestion as to which way to set up the camera to get the best pics. I have already taken the static pics, but the "action" shots are perplexing me. I am a 35mm convertee and I would just shoot that camera with a fast shutter speed and hope for the best, which worked out well for the most part.

Any suggestions??

Thanks in advance
raday
raday is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2009, 1:49 PM   #2

Hi,
First of all I am no pro.
But I recently got some great shots of WW 2 planes by setting my shutter to 1/800th- 1/1000th ISO400 spot metering,with the metering set to the central position. It was a very bright day and I hardly had a bad shot out of a hundred or so. I have the 18-200 vr lens and I took everything hand held as some of the planes flew by fast and low.170 mm worked well for me, perhaps I took a chance but I mostly shot on F5.6. The other thing I did was gave myself a bit of room around the object aeroplane so that I could crop out any vignetting and centre the plane if nescessary in P/Shop.
Attached Images

deadshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 2:03 PM   #3

Default airshow

Thanks deadshot.

I like your shot by the way. I will give it a try.

I will set it up and see what I can get. It is always so hard to change fast when the action is so fast. The good thing is it is digital and you can see right away if you messed up. WWII planes are much slower than the current ones so I am hoping that will help as well.