Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Dec 16, 2009, 11:41 AM   #1

Default Help in identifying camera accessoreis - lenses/flashes etc.

Hello,

While a long time lurker on this board, I am a new member and this is my first post.

I am a new hobbyist who has always been fascinated and intrigued by photography. Now that I am at a point in my life where I have a bit of time and money to invest into the hobby, I finally took the plunge and bought a new Nikon D90. As for now, I only have the included Nikon 18-105VR lens. I am looking for some advice as to what other lenses and/or other accessories I should look to buy (and in what order) to maximize my enjoyment of this new camera.

Here is a bit about my personal situation. The primary use of this camera will be for sporting events (photographing my daughter). She plays soccer (outdoor) nearly year round. She is the keeper, so she is almost always 1/2 - 3/4 of the field lenght away from our position. Typically, everything is a daytime game. She also plays volleyball. While the distance is typically shorter, its indoors and the lighting is highly variable depending upon the gymnasium.

My short term budget is about $1000 for additional lenses and accesories. Over time, I will probably spend much, much more, but for right now, this is what I am working with.

My question to this very knowledgable group is "what would you buy and in what ordrer if you were in my shoes?"

Thanks,
Michael
taysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2010, 10:51 AM   #2

Michael-

Note to Moderators: This should be moved to the Nikon DSLR-Lens Folder

Welcome ton the Forum, and congratulations on your purchase of a Nikon D-90. The D-90 is a great camera, I also shoot with a D-90 as does TCav, one of the other regular psters on the Forum. We're please that you dropped by.