Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Dec 30, 2009, 5:33 PM   #1

Default Upgrade Opinions, D90 or D300?

I am considering an upgrade from my D40 Body. I shoot mostly wildlife and eagles, but also landscape, travel and some macro and wedding. The wildlife is my main focus though. I use a Nikon 300mm F4 with a Nikon TC17ED. For my needs does it make more sense to go for the D300 or save some $$$ on the D90? Will my results improve signiicantly with the body upgrade or is the money better spent on glass? Also is it worth buying now or would it be better to wait awhile for price drops? Thanks all.
Kona is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2010, 12:45 PM   #2

I have no experience with the D300, but it does cost quite a lot more, so it's probably better. I have nearly only superlatives for the D90 and I almost only take landscape pictures, with the occasional portrait picture. The D90 is easy to handle with all the controllers, e.g. aperture, easy at hand. Since I’m an amateur photographer the D300 seemed more like a camera for professional and for amateurs with very special needs.

As for waiting until the prices drop... All I can say about that is that there is a reason they drop, there is something new and "better" on the market that they want you to buy instead. It’s like everything else; once a brand has something new that they wish the consumers to buy instead they lower the prices on the old version until they’ve sold all they think they can earn money on and then take it off the market.
Alasdair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 12:48 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Well the D300 offers a better AF which could be helpful for bird in flight shots, etc. But the D90 is no slouch either.

How much of your wildlife shots are action, i.e. bird in flight, etc?
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 1:31 PM   #4