Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:03 AM   #1

Default Wrong Choice?

Hi. I'm new to DSLR photography. I purchased a Nikon D5000 for my wife for Christmas. Have yet to take it out of the box. I bought this camera because of the really good review it recieved on this site. I see some people are unhappy and some are happy with this camera.

My wife and I have always wanted to get into photography. I keep hearing how some of the people who bought the 5000 are unhappy and that the D90 is better than this camera and how the D300s is even better. I know that cameras will always keep improving with newer technology. I can accept that. I would like some input from some other photographers out there as to what they would purchase. I know that these are opinions and I appreciate your time. I have yet to open the box, so I can return this camera if needed.

We will use this camera mainly for photographing our children and probably outdoor/nature type photos on the side.

Thanks again!
wolverines is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2009, 2:26 AM   #2

If you look around, you'll find that there really is no one unhappy with the D5000....some are pointing out what every camera has..deficiencies.

In general the D5000 gets good reviews...my short list is D5000, Pentax K-X and Canon T1i....and it will boil down to price.

In your case..new to DLSR..you COULD buy a camera that is ..in fact..over your head, and you'd probably be more frustrated then if you bought a too simple a camera...
littlejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 4:57 AM   #3

I can agree with that...I bought a Nikon D70 a few years ago and have yet to grow/learn into its abilities!

Teresa
ttrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 7:23 AM   #4