Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 20, 2010, 6:05 PM   #1

Default How to get optimum quality from a Nikon D5000

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to this forum and I hope I can get some good tips. Im going to Hawaii next friday with my wife and will be taking some pictures. I will be mostly be taking 3 types of pictures

1)Pictures of my Wife closeups. I guess you can call it a portrait
2) Me & wife with exotic scenery in the background, waterfalls, mountains, nature
3) just landscapes

My question is.....How do i get optimum quality out of my pictures? Should i shoot in JPEG or NEF only or Both JPEG + NEF?
The reason i ask is because this is one of those once in a life time trips and I want to make sure to capture as much detail as possible.
I have noticed that when taking pictures of my daughter or wife back at home, when i blow up the picture to 100% size its always a tad bit blurry or grainy. How do I get the crystal clear non blurry photos that professionals get from portraits?

Equipment being used is Nikon D5000 with stock lens 18-75 i believeand I also got the Nikor 75 - 200 lens. Can any one be kind to share some insight. Maybe settings and or tips on whats worked out the best. user experiences. All I want are clear NON FUZZY pictures. probably to blow up on like 8x10
SCossio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2010, 6:26 PM   #2

For "once-in-a-lifetime" shots, shoot RAW (NEF), but that will require a lot of storage space, so you you should probably make sure you have extra cards. And it probably won't hurt to have an extra battery too.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 6:38 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCav View Post
For "once-in-a-lifetime" shots, shoot RAW (NEF), but that will require a lot of storage space, so you you should probably make sure you have extra cards. And it probably won't hurt to have an extra battery too.