Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old May 7, 2010, 10:32 AM   #1

Default D90

I currently have a sony a300 and thinking very seriously about getting a d90. Anyone know what differences I would notice, would it be a dramatic improvement? Worth it or not?

I guess you may wonder what my unhappiness with my a300 is, well mostly noise but i'm just hoping for better photos overall. Am I wrong to think that the D90 produces better quality photos?

I'm no pro btw just love taking pics.

Thank you in advance for any responses.
Debbie26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2010, 10:40 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Yes, the Nikon is a better performer, but before you go switching systems, what sort of things do you want to shoot, what lenses do you have currently as there might be better ways of getting the results you desire.

I'm not a Sony expert, I will admit that I know probably least about all the options as they just have so many now with lots of differences so if a body change is called for then someone else might be able to suggest a Sony option that will work well for you. However, answer the questions above first so we get a better picture or your issues and needs.

Have fun everyone!

See what I'm up to visit my Plymouth Wedding Photography
site or go to my blog.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 10:51 AM   #3
Super Moderator

it might also depend on how heavily invested in Sony you are? just the kit lens?

I have heard good things about their new a500/a550, but like Mark I am not a Sony expert.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 10:54 AM   #4

Mark thank you for your response.