Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jun 25, 2010, 2:41 PM   #1

Default upgrading

i currently have a D90, no problems so far. but i am in a position , that i can get it upgraded to a D300s.
i am a casual photographer, and mostly take pics on vacations when i can get time. family gatherings, when invited. and the normal everyday pic.

the only negative thing about the D90 is that it feels very small in my hand, and feels even more arkward with the 17-55 lens. i added the grip and can hold it better , but with the grip has a strange poking feeling in the palm of my hand. and really just added it so i will have some where to rest my little finger.

i see that the 300s is about a 1/2 " taller, does this mean i would have a place to rest my pinky finger.
is the high iso performance better or the same i:e over 800

Dave
dafiryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 25, 2010, 3:11 PM   #2

Surprisingly, DxOMark gives the D90 higher marks than the D300s:

http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/en/...(brand2)/Nikon
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 4:20 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCav View Post
Surprisingly, DxOMark gives the D90 higher marks than the D300s:

http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/en/...(brand2)/Nikon

By chance does that mean the D90 is better than the D300s

Dave
T&T
Old Jun 26, 2010, 7:30 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by dafiryde View Post
By chance does that mean the D90 is better than the D300s

Dave
T&T
No, that means that the D90 had a little lower noice according to the DxOMark test. Probably nothing you will see in real life. The D300 is overall a better camera.

Best regards/Daniel
DSProtection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 8:21 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSProtection View Post