Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Aug 1, 2010, 1:29 PM   #1

Default Nikon D5000 football shots

Hi I am new to the nikon d5000. I have 4 boys who all play football. What is the best setting so they are not blurry? We play in the morning and at 1pm.

Also we do bmx racing what would be the best setting for that? They seemed to be very bright but not blurry.

Thank you

I have a 70-300 lens that I used for both of these.
momto4boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 1, 2010, 2:00 PM   #2

You can shot in aparteure mode with the largest aparteure possible. In daylight it should give you enough shutter speed. Wit a wide aparteure you also get a nice DOF. (Background out of focus/blurry).

I donīt know wich 70-300 lens you have but if you have the Nikon 70-300VR, the widest aparteure is f4,5.

The shutter speed should be at least 500 but you should get up to 1000 or more. If not, shot with higher ISO.

Hope that helps a bit.

Good luck.

Best regards/Daniel
DSProtection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 5:34 PM   #3

In addition to the advice that DSProtection has given, you should also set the Focus Mode to AF-C (Continuous), set the AF-Area to Dynamic, and chose the center Focus Point. You may also want to set the Release Mode to Continuous, so you can take multiple photos in sequence as the action occurs.

You might also turn off the flash and the AF Illuminator. You can also turn on Active D-Lighting, to help with the faces.

Last edited by TCav; Aug 1, 2010 at 7:47 PM.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 7:07 PM   #4

Thanks Tcav. I missed those.

Best regards/Daniel
Old Aug 1, 2010, 9:25 PM   #5

Okay thank you. I do have the Nikon 70- 300 vr. How do I get it on the release mode to continuous? I had another camera and I did awesome shot's with but this one I am struggling to learn!
momto4boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 9:32 PM   #6