Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Dec 29, 2003, 1:08 AM   #1

Default about to upgrade camera

I currently have a once top of the line but now really old Olympus D-500 .7 mega pixel digital SLR. I am a casual photographer and want to be able to shoot family events and my children’s school and sport activities. The Digital rebel ($999 with lens) seems like the best camera for my needs but talking with a few friends they all tell me I can’t go wrong with Nikon.

The D100 seems to be the logical choice for me from the Nikon series but I am concerned as the technology is about a year and a half old for the $1,400 (no lens) price tag. The reviews seem to have the two cameras very close in image quality. I know Nikon is working on the D70 (to be released in spring 2004 with a less than $1000 cost) and am wondering if it will be as good as the current D100 since the D100 will be almost two years old at that time. Have they improved the D100 since its original release? Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
PKchopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 29, 2003, 7:50 AM   #2

Have a look at http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...ic.php?t=16518

It may help.

Regards,
Graham.
checklg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2003, 11:44 AM   #3

:shock: was that my twin posting the other message or what?

It definitely helps, however I am still intrigued about the upcoming Nikon D70. Since the Rebel is on backorder at all the local camera shops and it's not imperative I upgrade immediately...do you think Nikon will try and surpass the Rebel or just offer basically the same camera with their name on it? Thanks and I invite as much dialog as possible.
Old Dec 30, 2003, 5:47 PM   #4
Red

Default D100 or D70