Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 5, 2011, 12:34 PM   #1

Default Field guide for the D90

I'm new to dslr and just got my first camera (D90). Now I need to begin learning. I've tried reading the manual and also have done some youtube lessons. I was thinking of getting the David Busch's D90 or the Dummies D90. Any thoughts?
Brett K is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 5, 2011, 12:59 PM   #2
Administrator

Hey Brett.

You posted this in our Nikon Forum in the Point and Shoot section.

We have a separate section further down on the main page for dSLR models. So, I'll move this thread to our Nikon dSLR Forum for you now.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2011, 5:57 AM   #3

Hi Brett,
When my husband purchased his D90 he also purchased the Magic Lantern Guide - "Nikon D90 Multimedia Workshop". It is a small hard copy book and 2 DVDs (also a handy quick reference card to keep in your camera bag). I can recommend this for beginners. Amazon sells this product. Good luck and enjoy your D90.
banksy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2011, 7:23 AM   #4

Brett...

First, congratulations and a D90 as a "first" camera is really stepping up.

I would suggest that you check your local library. That type of book is something that gets used less and less as you gain experience. You will also see other books there on related photographic subjects that you may want to checkout when returning the first and subsequent books. Just do one book at a time though. I violated that rule checking out a book on weddings and another on portraits thinking they were related, however, in the 3 week checkout period really didn't do them justice.