Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 15, 2011, 8:38 AM   #1

Default Nikon D90 and MB-D80 problem

I ran into a major problem with my battery grip. I had two batteries in the grip and one in the right slot went dead and the grip did not switch to the left battery and the D90 shut down. When I switched batteries putting the good battery in the right slot and the dead battery in the left slot the D90 would not power up. If I removed the dead battery from the left slot the D90 powered up with no problems. I then placed a fresh battery in the left slot and the D90 powered up no problem. This isn't a great situation as I can be in the middle of a shot and the D90 will just shut off without switching batteries. Does anyone know why this is happening?
joelw135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 15, 2011, 10:00 AM   #2

I'm new to battery grips (on Canon) and I didn't realise they switched between batteries. I thought both were simply in parallel and ran down together. In that case a bad battery with no internal resistance will both stop the camera working and will destroy the other battery.

Are you sure there's logic in these things?
Old Apr 15, 2011, 10:04 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterbj7 View Post
I'm new to battery grips (on Canon) and I didn't realise they switched between batteries. I thought both were simply in parallel and ran down together. In that case a bad battery with no internal resistance will both stop the camera working and will destroy the other battery.

Are you sure there's logic in these things?