Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 4, 2012, 12:33 PM   #1

Default AI-S and AF lenses still good?

Hi,

I am fairly new to photography, bought my first DSLR a few weeks ago - the D5100 and kit lens. Absolutely love it, especially as the kit lens is so versatile. I also inherited some manual focus lenses - Nikkor 55mm Micro AIS, and a 105mm AIS also. Both are really good and fill gaps in my kit lens, although neither meter.
Thinking about the possible expenses of lenses, plus also the long term usability considerations (if I ever upgrade to full frame for example). Do you think it is worth it if the main bulk of my lens collection is made up of old lenses, considering that some can be picked up fairly cheap compared to newer versions? How do the optics compare to newer versions?
Which ones would you recommend? I am looking primary in terms of cost, optics/sharpness and usability in the long term (the prime reason I don't want to shell out the best DX lenses), speed of AF doesn't matter much to me at this point.
coyotewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2012, 12:51 PM   #2

Your D5100 doesn't have a built-in AF motor, so those lenses won't AF. dSLRs like the D90 and D7000 would work better with those lenses. If you've got a lot of them, you'd be better served by a camera upgrade.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2012, 7:30 PM   #3

I am aware of that, and may considering upgrading to a d7000 in order to make fuller use of older lenses such as these.
coyotewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2012, 9:27 PM   #4

Congrats on getting a great entry level dslr. It should hold you in good stead for some time to come.

My suggestions as to what you should do now is:

Hold off contemplating any additional lens or camera purchases until you: