Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old May 14, 2004, 11:56 AM   #1

hi again,

shot all kind of photos yesterday. some outdoor, some indoor, but i am not really thrilled with the results. some turned out ok, most i could have done better with my "now old" Panasonic FZ1.

all settings are automatic.what i was particularly interested in, were good indoor (in the restaurant i work in)shots. i was less then impressed with the reach of the flash.

if you have some time please have a look and give me some feedback. i have been shooting digital for quite a few years, but never with a fancy camera like the D70. what am i missing? is it all me or could it have something to do with the camera.

http://www.coedfun.org/photogallery/...23395/real.htm

thank you for any comments in advance,

wolf
coedfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 14, 2004, 12:10 PM   #2

I'm not the best one to be giving advice, but I'm going to do it anyway. I looked at your pics and for the most part I didn't think they looked too bad. I especially liked the picture of your dog. Some of the resteraunt shots looked fine. Some looked under - exposed and the flash was too harsh in many of them. Anyway, personally what I would do, what I did do actually, is buy a flash to attach to your hot shoe. I think you'll like the results much better. I bought an SB-800 and I am able to bounce the flash off ceilings, put on a dufusion dome, etc. I find with maybe a little exposure compenstation I am able to light rooms better and the light is much softer with no harsh shadows. I've read comments from others that the on board flash is more of a nice touch and a great fill flash. That's pretty much how I feel about the on board flash as well. Good luck
mdparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2004, 12:15 PM   #3

hmm, interesting