Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 30, 2004, 1:54 AM   #1
Administrator
 
steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,535
Default

Nikon has posted a firmware update for the D70, be sure to get it !

http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bin...;p_cat_lvl1=23


steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 30, 2004, 5:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
The Conqueror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 164
Default

But, before you update you have to know that if you do something wrong and it failes there is no warenty no more. The circuit board must be changed and you have to pay for it.

If you are not a pro and doing it the first time or not shure what to do, be careful.

better to take Nikon Service Center and get it done for free...

Just warning... don't get me wrong.....






The Conqueror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2004, 12:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 610
Default

Hey Mr Belgium,

If you suggest something , please base on facts and not paranoia...please read the message below from Nikon.:shock:



Subject
Nikon D70 Firmware

Discussion Thread
Response (Michael G.) 06/30/2004 09:43 AM
Hi,



Updating the firmware by yourself does not void the warranty, if your feel uncomfortable in doing so you may send the camera to our service facility. For service information, please see:

Title: How do I get my Nikon product repaired?


URL: http://support.nikontech.com/... ....php?p_faqid=336&p_created=1034257343

I hope this helps, have a great day!


Michael G.
Digital Imaging
Nikon, Inc.

Thanks for using Nikon products!
Nikon USA Tech Support
http://support.nikontech.com







tuanokc@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2004, 2:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
The Conqueror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 164
Default

Go to DP review and read the discussions for more info and the answers from the Nikon Repair Centers.


http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...essage=9364704
The Conqueror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2004, 7:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 610
Default

I've done my firmware update today, less than 5 minutes, no college graduate reqiured, everything worked out perfectly.

Folks, this is a very simle procedure, just follows the instruction from Nikon website, you can't not go wrong with this...

:shock:
tuanokc@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2004, 11:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Darrell1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 227
Default

My new camera just arrived today and I just performed the update. No problem.

A note: unlike the Nikon web site, my camera did NOT display "done" after updating firmware A. The display just went black after the "do not turn off camera" message. So, I was a bit afraid to turn it off! It did display "done" after updating firmware B.

Darrell


Darrell1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2004, 8:58 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 610
Default

It displayed both one mine...no problem...
tuanokc@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2004, 3:06 PM   #8
Member
 
civil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default

I also have done mine and no problem.But I must say I thought that the nikon would correct the digital vari auto program modes(portrait,landscape etc.)with this firmware but unfortunately there is no change about it.it s still awful.Bad white balance,bad exposure and bad flash exposure.You can not still use the camera as a p&s.

Okon a DSLR camera we dont usually use this digi-vari programmes but Do they have to be so bad ? (too bad :evil or is mine bad only ? what about yours?
civil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2004, 3:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jtgraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 117
Default

I just have to LOL a little, first people complained about not being able to upgrade D100 firmware on their own and now I see them complain when something goes wrong like the post on dpreview. Sorry just trying to understand why people complain so much :P

When I did my D100 I just took it in and waited 15min. to get it back.

Gee maybe thats why Nikon didn't want to offer it before some people may have problems or some may not know just what to expect if they do have trouble. Anytime you flash a chip something can go wrong but in most cases it save.
jtgraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2004, 4:54 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Klaus DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,216
Default

Good point JT!!!
Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.