Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jul 15, 2004, 8:10 PM   #1

Let me preface this first by saying I'm a novice. I have only have one true hobby and that's fishing. Well, why not make it more fun by taking pictures of it. I bought a Canon G5 and I loved it. I decided to then buy a D70 after reading many nice things about it.

So here it goes:

I'm using auto mode as of right now. I took some pics today of my guys driving a bulldozer around pushing dirt. I noticed that once I downloaded the imagesthey looked grainy. So I took my G5 outside along with my D70 and shot pictures to compare them. The pics taken by my G5 were much better. The thing I noticed was that the G5 chose anaperature of 4.5 and shutter speed of 1/250. The D70 chose an aperature of f12 to f14 and a shutter speed of 1000 to 1250. SO....I switched the D70 to manual mode and mimicked the same settings as the G5 and got fairly equal results (G5 quality was a bit better). I chose AUTO ISO and the highest quality setting on the D70.

Any ideas folks?

PS- I have enrolled in a photography class
HylanF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 15, 2004, 9:23 PM   #2

What were the ISO on the images that you took? If high (>800), turn off AUTO ISO
YDanusas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2004, 9:36 PM   #3

Hmmm. Looking back at all the pictures, the iso settings were around 1600.

I take it the Auto ISO doesn't work all that well? Would an ISO of around 200 to 300 work well for outdoor shots?
Old Jul 15, 2004, 10:13 PM   #4

Yes. If the camera is shooting at 1/1000 or faster, there is more than adequate light. If you are trying to stop motion, 1/250 or 1/500 should be adequate.
dcrawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2004, 11:41 PM   #5