Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Aug 14, 2004, 10:05 AM   #1

I am going to a picnic today and it is a bright day. I will be taking pictures of children.This is just a hobby so I won't be stressed if some pictures do not come out. Here are thequestions, I have a D70. Should I shoot in aperture mode, programor automatic? If aperture mode,should I set at the greatest aperture? Should I use matrix metering? Is spot focusing good for aperture mode? Should I put my white balance on sun or leave in automatic. Should I leave my ISO on automatic?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Nadia:?
Nadia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 14, 2004, 11:32 AM   #2

I'm no expert, let alone on the D70 -- just got it yesterday. However, it seems ISO Auto is not favorable for many. I would suggest ISO 200.
JawKnee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2004, 8:04 PM   #3

Leave ISO auto OFF all the time!!!! If you don't, all you get is NOISE

Hylan
HylanF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2004, 9:42 PM   #4

Thank you so much for both of your advice on ISO. I checked and I was set on 200. I used aperture mode set at 5.6. I did have two pictures out of focus, I think it was because I was not on the subjects with the spot focusing. I used the SB 800 and realized that I never put it in AA mode. It was in TTL. The lighting was fine. I attached a picture with no editing. There is so much to learn. The journey is fun.

Nadia
Attached Images

Nadia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2004, 7:05 AM   #5

Just got a D70 and I am happy with it so far. Has anybody managed to use the D70 with the SB800 offcamera? I am trying to use the SB800as a slave flash off camera, but it doesn`t fire. Any help with settings will be greatly appreciated.

:|

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"
purkiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2004, 8:02 AM   #6

Forgot to mention that I am not using sync cables.