Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 23, 2004, 2:54 PM   #1

I am a DSLR newbie and have a D70 enroute to be here tomorrow. I'm looking for some tips to avoid being disappointed... but let me give you a little background. Started with a Nikon FG years ago, and a couple of lenses. When autofocus came out, we made the jump with the N6006. That has been our mainstay since then, with my wife taking most of the pics in the house... family, scenary, portraits, and a lot of highschool sports these days. I bought a Nikon Coolpix 4300 earlier this year, pirmarily to take pictures of geek items that I write reviews for... to post on a website. It had a really good macro feature compared to other digitals, so that was my main criteria... for getting close ups. I've been less than enthused with it as a digital day to day camera, and my wife basically refused to use it not being interested in learning something new.

After a lot of discussion, I determined that a digital that looked and acted like the 6006 would get better received by her, and the D70 looks to be the ticket. After I ordered it, however, I'ver started to worry that she will be frustrated (I think I'll be fine). Neither of us are real photographers to the point of getting into manual functions.. but she is not wanting to mess with anything. She wants the quality picture of the 6006, with the same amount of work. With the 6006, she basically points and shoots and gets very good pictures most of the time. The problem with online reviews, is that they are usually done by expert photographers, who's eye is way more picky than mine. Will we be able to get similar results with the D70 that we've gotten with the 6006... when running it basically on autopilot?