Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 26, 2004, 10:30 AM   #1

Dear Forum,

I looked at all the lens questions and answers on the forum and researched theinternet, however I am totally confused as to what I need. :sad:

I have the D70 with the 18-70mm lens.I would like to go to the next step. I am not a professional but take a lot of pictures at friend/family weddings and work functions. What should I be considering, wide angle or zoom? In time I would like to have both but for now what do you think would fill my needs. I read aabout the Nikon or Sigma 70-200, 2.8 (zoom)Also, Nikkor 12-24 mm f/4G (wide angle).While cost is a consideration I want the best quality. I am on vacation so I am going to hit the camera stores, I just don't want to go into this totally ignorant.:?

Thanks,

Nadia
Nadia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 26, 2004, 12:37 PM   #2

When it comes to weddings, being able to switch quickly is the main concern. You may shoot a closeup of the bride & turn around to 5 people wanting their picture made together. The best choice would be to have one camera with a good quality zoom like the one you have. I wouldn't shoot a wedding with single focal length lenses unless I had two cameras with a wide lens on one and a normal lens on the other.

Same with things like work functions. I do a lot of pictures at the office when we have events & the zoom allows for getting around in a crowd & taking both closeups and groups much easier without having to carry a small bag with extra lenses to have to deal with.