Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jan 19, 2005, 9:33 PM   #1

Hi folks...First time poster. I am addicted to my D70, so I hope to be around a lot.

I am a newbie in the world of photography. I bought the D70 to take photos primarilly for my web site, as well as family photos. Here is my problem.....My indoor photos look horrible, even with the flash. I mainly shoot on auto with the lens that came with the kit. They look bad whether I am at ISO 200 or 1,600.

I took the camera back to the store, and without even looking at it, the guy said that the flash is not meant to be used for anything other than fill lighting and that I would have to purchase an additional flash. I was confused, since I am not talking about photos in very dark rooms or from far distances. I have had trouble in well-lit rooms when I was a few feet away from the subject.

Any ideas? Thanks!!!!

John
rutgers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 19, 2005, 9:52 PM   #2
TCB

Pick up the SB 600.....pics will look alot better indoors. The built in flash is not very good.
TCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2005, 10:08 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. But shouldn't they currently be presentable without lightening them in Photoshop?
rutgers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2005, 10:46 PM   #4

If your colours are out then try playing around with your White Balance controls, and in particular try setting the WB "level" to something like -2. I usually find Auto -2 to do the trick, or you could try something similar with the incandescant or fluorestent lighting settings.
sabaisabai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2005, 11:33 PM   #5

What do you mean by horrible? You might try getting off of Auto. Check out some of the preset programs which are tuned for different situations or try P. I wouldn't drop some bucks on another flash.