Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Feb 7, 2005, 7:53 PM   #1

I have need of a dslr for a single purpose: Pics of a dance company in theaters shot during rehearsals. Dance lighting is not like theater lighting as it's mostly sides not front. I need results comparible to this (first was shot with a Rebel so ignore that one):

http://www.bmdc.org/press

I use the pics mostly for press and promotional materials.

These were mostly taken with a 20D or 1D but I can't always rely on this volunteer photographer to show up so I need a backup camera that I can use myself when needed. (I have a lot of experience shooting dance with film slrs so I'm not just a point-and-shooter.)

Looking at my library of digital pics most are shot between 800 and 1600. Rarely is 3200 needed but rarely is less than 800 ok. I need fast shot-to-shot, naturally, and good AF tracking.

So I've been doing a lot of research. A 20D would absolutely cover all bases but with the rebates a D70 is $500 less. Not insignificant for a non-profit. Plus a better kit lens. I figure I'll also get a workhorse f1.8 50mm.

So honestly all you D70 people. Can the D70 hack this job? Is noise really acceptable at 1600? Can I really rapid-fire when needed withoug losing the perfect shot? If all you did was this job would you use a D70?

JM
bmdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2005, 8:16 PM   #2

D70, ISO 1600, 50mm 1.8......Let me know if it cuts it.....
Attached Images

brandofamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2005, 8:17 PM   #3

Ive got more....
Attached Images

Old Feb 7, 2005, 8:21 PM   #4

Thanks brandofamily, i saw those in another post (where they were smaller) and they are compelling. Maybe a bit grainier than the 20D but acceptable. I didn't see any comment on shot-to-shot or tracking fast action, though.
Old Feb 7, 2005, 9:50 PM   #5